Hedonism  cover art

eMEGO 093 / Angel


  • 1. Holding Loose (4:04)
  • 2. Unknown Dawn (4:59)
  • 3. Hatch (1:29)
  • 4. Adrenaline Strike (1:46)
  • 5. Dropping The Ego (5:13)
  • 6. Highrise 1 (3:59)
  • 7. Unsymmetric Distance (0:49)
  • 8. Spectral Gate
  • 9. Mirrorworld (20:05)
  • 10. Hornet (8:13)



Total Time: 54’00

Music by Dirk Dresselhaus & Ilpo Väisänen
Recorded & mixed January 2004 - December 2007 Constructionsite Studios, Berlin and Ilpo's cottage, Karttula

Mastered by Rashad Becker, August 2008
Cover photo by D. Dresselhaus
Design by Stephen O’Malley

Despite only being released now 'Hedonism' is actually the first studio album by Dirk Dresselhaus and Ilpo Väsiänen as duo, a project which started in 1999. 5 years in the making and being started before Hildur Gudnadottir joined forces, 'Hedonism' is colllision of urban and rural settings.
The opening five blistering tracks retain a full in sci-fi punk feel being made in Dirk's Berlin studio. Tracks such as ‘Holding Loose’ and ‘Adrenaline Strike’ are brutal urban mantras bristling with energy. These are followed by electro-acoustic exercise manipulating various concrete sources, leading up to the final 2 pieces recorded at Ilpo's lakeside cottage in the wilds of northern Finland. Here fragile field recordings of insects, fish eating mosquitos, birds mesh with the duos shiny electronics to create the massive 'Mirrorworld'. The closing 'Hornet' while stating a calm atmosphere has a somewhat startling surprise in store for the listener.