LP cover art

SP048 / Container


  • 1. Drain (4:46)
  • 2. Leaker (4:09)
  • 3. Vacancy (2:14)
  • 4. Peppered (3:56)
  • 5. Juicer (3:15)
  • 6. Slippers (2:42)
  • 7. Retractor (2:54)
  • 8. Jail (2:43)
  • 9. Chunked (5:24)



Enter Code for DOWNLOAD CODE SP 048


Ren Schofield has returned with a new installment in his notorious "LP" series for Spectrum Spools. "LP" has all the earmarks of the classic Container sound with it's uber-mangled, saturated tape garble and headlong tempo macabre. However, this new set of tracks feature an attention to composition unlike much of the Container we've previously heard. While the tracks unfurl across two sides of wax the contours and jagged edges of each sonic sculpture display a new refinement while maintaining the full capacity to vaporize any club floor with Container’s traditional recklessness.

Miraculously, this new “LP” manages to incorporate some more traditionally ‘musical’ elements thus far untouched upon in the projects output while simultaneously delivering it’s most damaged and blown out offering yet. Despite leaving a trail of albums that get more intense with each passing year, this “LP” is bar none the most loaded. The tracks feature a trajectory with narrative, surrounded by broken acid basslines grating against disintegrating tape loops. This is the infectious and singular hypnosis Container has become well-known for. Overloaded drum patterns, washes of feedback, and dying melodies - it's all here and somehow it's restructured to be different and better than ever before. With this latest installment, there are no longer shambles but merely dust left behind.

As Container continues to evolve in an upward motion, "LP" presents a refreshing and welcome new chapter.