Persuasive Barrier cover art

SP 022 / Three Legged Race

Persuasive Barrier

  • 1.1. Traces Of A Wet Crowd (1:48)
  • 1.2. Permethrin I (4:17)
  • 1.3. Persuasive Barrier (5:35)
  • 1.4. Magnetic Bride (8:38)
  • 2.1. Butter Colored Hallway (2:41)
  • 2.2. Locked Eyes (3:13)
  • 2.3. Budgeting Air (4:57)
  • 2.4. Permethrin II (6:11)
Sold out at source


Enter Code for DOWNLOAD CODE SP 022

Recorded by Ed Sunspot 2008-2012 at Resonant Hole, Lexington, KY.

Music and artwork by Robert Beatty
Mastered by James Plotkin

Three Legged Race is the ongoing, ever evolving project of Robert Beatty, a Lexington, Kentucky based multi-media artist and founding member of noise band Hair Police. 2012 has been a busy year for Beatty as he's provided his personal brand of visual art for countless excellent albums, and has also released new audio works (the outstanding "Wrong Element" 12" on Acoustic Division is essential). "Persuasive Barrier" is the debut full length album from Three Legged Race, recorded over a period of five years.

The album begins with "Traces of a Wet Crowd", creating a spacious and synthetic environment for the album to unfold upon with it's rolling, cryptic vocal spray and high-frequency pulsing. "Traces" seamlessly collides with "Permethrin", a track which suspends the listener in juxtaposed clatter and wide open space. "Persuasive Barrier" plays like a lost Mort Garson theme accidentally found on Haruomi Hosono's soundtrack to the fictional film "Cochin Moon". The lonely vocal passages and dream-like melody trails lead the listener down a very personal path, where the visual and audio aspects of Beatty's world leave the artist exposed for your examination. Listen carefully, these moments are woven together in a complex way that warrants repeat visits to this special stasis.

The flip of "Barrier" starts with the warm "Butter Colored Hallway", which hovers over the stereo field like a hot cloud, slowly moving and dripping micro details as it floats into "Locked Eyes", which is another wonderful and melodic passage. The album heads for the abstract and jagged ("Budgeting Air") before arriving at a complex bed of rhythms ("Permethrin II") where the album comes full circle.

"Persuasive Barrier" sees Beatty organize many of his musical ideas and themes old and new into a fluid, flowing and comprehensive debut. This is a new high watermark in his discography, and a fine and welcome addition to the Spectrum Spools catalog.